Eyes on Africa

Cycling the last bit to Tarifa was exceedingly hard work as the wind was seriously blowing. The Spanish had noticed and had cleverly built a windfarm.

Tarifa is the most Southern tip of Mainland Europe and only 14 km away from Africa. It’s also the point where the Mediterranean Sea meets the Atlantic Ocean. The actual point cannot be reached because it’s fenced off by the Ministerio del Interior.

The next day I visited Gibraltar. This time by bus and I must say, with dazzling speed.
The bus took me to La Linea and from there I crossed the border by foot. After that all traffic has to cross the landing strip of the Gibraltar Airport, a novel experience.

There was a sign reading:

AIRFIELD AHEAD
you are now crossing a live runway
pedestrians are to keep within the white lines
please cross quickly

Walking through Main Street was like walking through any English shopping street, complete with a Marks & Spencer, a post office and the typical English telephone booths. Outside restaurants were signs advertising fish and chips rather than the plato del dia.

From Main Street I climbed to the Upper Rock and followed the road all the way to O’Hara’s Battery, the highest point at 426 metres. Going down, I took the so called Mediterranean Steps, which provided spectacular scenery.

The only 'wild' monkeys in Europe.

The only ‘wild’ monkeys in Europe.

At O'Hara's gunpoint. One of the Pillars of Hercules.

At O’Hara’s Battery, in ancient times known as one of the Pillars of Hercules.

Later, when I was back in Tarifa, I packed my bicycle and rode to the port. A guard stopped me.
No ferry today, he said.
Why not, I asked.
Because of the wind, he answered.
Cycling back to hostel I dodged  a tractor that came flying through the street.
Just a breeze and they stop the ferry, I mumbled.

Leave a Reply

