Faro days II

Life is like riding a bicycle.
To keep your balance you must keep moving
.

This is a quotation of Albert Einstein, widely regarded for his intellect.

einstein

Einstein on the move

Otherwise, there is not much to write about but as Epictetus said:

If you wish to be a writer, write.

The hospital revisited.
There are many patients. A sign high on the wall reads silêncio, but nobody pays attention. People are sick and dying, they don’t want to read signs. They shout across the waiting room and speak loudly in mobile phones. On the tv screen the same anchorman as on my previous visit is reading the news. Emotionless, mute. This time I came prepared and brought a book, Contemporary Irish Fiction.  I drink espresso from a machine and try to understand Samuel Beckett’s short story – For to end yet again. I deem it unintelligible and am glad to hear my name over the loudspeaker.

Does this hurt?
No
Does this hurt?
No.
Does this hurt?
Yes, OWW, you found it, stop it, please…

The doctors prescribe me more medications. Different medications. One of them is Tramadol and, inquisitive as I am, I google the internet and find an interesting Wikipedia article. It mentions one serious side effect as an ‘increased risk of suicide’. Curiously, a few paragraphs later, the same medication is listed as a possible ‘antidepressant’.

I buy a very cheap smartphone, because of the gps functionality. When I get back to the hostel I use it and, with the help of at least four satellites, I find the supermarket, which is across the street from my hostel. It works beautifully. Other things I like about it, are the interesting bleeps it makes and the front camera which enables me to take selfies.

First selfie, look serious.

Selfie taken with my new phone.

I tried to transfer the picture (shown above) from my phone to my laptop using Bluetooth, but though I had just before successfully sent a file from my laptop to my phone using this technology, the other way around appeared more difficult. So I gave up and stored it in Google Drive.

I also decided to move to another hostel for a change of atmosphere and because I had read all the books in the little book exchange of my previous lodgings. It turned out to be a good move. The different environment seemed to lift my spirits. Or maybe it’s just the antidepressant effect of the Tramadol I am taking.

At least I am moving…

4 thoughts on “Faro days II

  1. Tom Winkler

    Hoi Peter, ik ben weer helemaal bij. Je verhalen zijn bijzonder en het leest, ook al is het in ‘t Engels, toch prettig. Je hebt een leuke manier van vertellen. Wat zie jij veel zeg, prachtig. En wij zijn daarbij de toeschouwer. Jammer dat het op dit moment tegenzit met je gezondheid. Ik wens je een spoedig herstel zodat je weer gauw “on the move” kunt gaan. Groet van Tom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

