Brussels

My hosts in Brussels took me to the Atomium. The total height of the structure is 102 metres and it’s total weight at it’s inception was 2,400,000 kg. During a renovation in 2006 they added another 100,000 kg. After the World Expo in 1958, for which it was purposely built, they forgot to tear it down again. It involves a lot of qeueuing to get anywhere beyond the entrance.

It’s fairly symmetrical as the picture below shows.

Brussels

The Atomium in Brussels

The day before I had packed my tent at a decrepit campsite with  a predominantly  Polish clientele living in mobile homes. The friendly Flemish  owner wasn’t particularly concerned with matters of hygiene, but it sufficed for a single night.
On my way to Brussels I followed scenic routes along little rivers and canals. The last twenty kilometres confronted me with the first serious  hills sofar and I used gears I had never had any use for before. Slogging my way up In this fashion I reached new heights, as did my saddle pain which, I am afraid to say, left my buttocks in a sorry state.

In Brussels I enjoyed my first rest day.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Brussels

  1. Gerard

    Zoals je weet was ik dit weekend ook in Brussel. Wel veel fietsers gezien vanwege de autovrije dag in Brussel. Maar niet bij het Atomium geweest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

