Mild fear

Bicycle touring does include certain risks and as a consequence it inspires mild fear.
A common method of overcoming fear is to put things in perspective. That is, if you still have time to live.

A consistent fear I have is the fear of finding out that I don’t like bicycle touring for a considerable length of time. But the worst thing that could happen then, is I have to send the bike back home, buy a suitcase and travel onwards in a more conventional, if not more comfortable, way. Another fear I have is my bicycle will break down in some remote area. The worst thing that could happen then, is I can’t mend it and I will need to find a bush mechanic and let him repair my bike. I’ll give him a jar of jam.

But that’s not really the worst thing that could happen, is it? The worst thing that could happen is I get Ebola and die.

Statistics can be helpful too in dealing with fear. Take dogs, for example. I’ve found out that dogs kill 34 people per year in the United States, but that falling out of bed kills 450 people per year in that same country. Interestingly, most fatalities of the first category concern young children whereas the people dying in the second category tend to be over 65.

I feel better now.

schets

Sketch I made of rock paintings in Lesotho

Leave a Reply

